A la francaise

Today concludes my staycation. I’ve been off from work for ten days. I didn’t do much but create space. I’ve been reading voraciosly on this lately. It worked wonders. I’ve always been focused on what’s next. The last week was different.

I left B in daycare and stole the days for myself. I decluttered the house. I made a few nice meals. I went on dates with girlfriends for coffee, breakfast, lunch. Friday, Erin and I took Brynn and Isa to the zoo with Erin’s cousins. Later we ate a lovely late night meal at 112 Eatery. (Buttery sea scallops, fresh cucumber orange salad, done to perfection short ribs, and silky chocolate torte. Al fresco, to boot.) 😉

Another thing the week allowed me was to reconnect with what’s important to me outside of work. My Jerry Maguire moment. I’ve been very focused on proving myself up to now. But suddenly job, child, city, are in place. I’m not searching to climb the ladder or make a change. The grass doesn’t truly feel greener elsewhere. For this reason the break felt like a breakthrough. I spent lazy days letting float to the surface buried memories like trips abroad, trysts, and what’s made me happy over the years. (When “responsibilities” haven’t overpowered my life.) And I’ve discovered that reminiscing about my trip to Paris, eating lunch at Barbette’s, and reading Bringing up Bebe have me on a kick a la francaise.

So, what is next? I don’t know yet but I feel I’ve got a fresh start. And I’m enjoying rethinking the seemingly inevitable options. With fresh eyes I see the next phase of my life as a blank canvas. This year, thirty five has felt oddly symmetrical. Like a crest.

But for today, I’m back to work tomorrow luckily to something I love. Thanks for reading along, and for indulging my whims and caprices.

 

Leave a Reply

